On April 3rd and 9th, the Cayuga Vocal Ensemble and their director Sean Linfors present The Spirit Sings, a concert of new and old choral works.  A set of three works by Zanaida Robles, Morten Lauridsen, and Mozart explores the Veni Sancte Spiritus (Come, Holy Spirit) text, and short pieces by Stephen Paulus and Moses Hogan illuminate the spirit-filled voice.  Also on this concert, CVE is proud to premiere a newly commissioned work by American / Christopher Harris, Joy Never Leaves.  This piece came about through a partnership with several other choruses to commission Harris’ work.  Joy Never Leaves is an uplifting setting of Devondra Banks’ poem of the same name, and speaks of the persistence of the spirit through adversity. 

The Spirit Sings

Lauridsen – Veni sancte spiritus

Robles – Veni sancte spiritus

Mozart – Veni sancte spiritus

Billings – Wake every breath

Finzi – My Spirit Sang All Day

Paulus – Hymn to the eternal flame

Hogan – I’m gonna sing ‘til the spirit moves


CVE performing before a capacity crowd at the Homer Center for the Arts, Dec. 2016

The Cayuga Vocal Ensemble is a twenty-voice choral ensemble of professionally-trained singers, presenting a wide variety of works from a broad spectrum of periods and genres. Our mission is to share our passion for choral music with the Ithaca community and surrounding region through performances that exemplify music’s unique power to touch the human heart and mind.

As a small choral ensemble, we offer outstanding performances of diverse repertoire reaching across genres, time periods, and cultures, and bringing to varied audiences a deeper understanding and broader appreciation for choral music.

We are based in Ithaca, New York and we invite you to join us!

Please enjoy these recordings of recent live performances, and visit our Media page for more audio and video links.  You can also browse our history through our 40th anniversary slide show.